Originally the Cistercian monks from County Wexford possessed a small chapel here in the 13th century. It was dedicated to Saints Peter and Paul. Sometime later it was abandoned by the Cistercians and the land was held by the O'Madden family. The land was granted by the O'Maddens to the Dominican Friars who founded an abbey here in 1426 and dedicated it to St Mary and Saints Peter and Paul. It was converted for use as a Protestant church in the 18th century. This is a 35 metre long nave and chancel church separated by the tower. The top image was taken from the nave looking east towards the four-light window in the east gable. The two arches are all that remains of the tower. The image above shows the three-light window in the south transept. There is a superb collection of medieval grave slabs and memorial plaques in the chancel and a piscina in the south wall. The cloister is located on the northside of the church along with the sacristy. What remains of the arcade has been reconstructed. The north transept is incorporated into a number of domestic buildings at the northwest. This is a lovely ruin to wander around and has some interesting hidden gems, like the inverted head at the base of the sacristy doorway. Insert a children’s playground.